Often life is hard, but God is always good

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion, and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.” Second Letter to the Corinthians, Chapter 1, Verses 3 and 4 – New International Version

My soul has been harassed with circumstances outside my control, primarily the loss of a family home very dear to me, and misunderstandings with people involved in the sale.  I realize I have lost things, not people. Yet even so, I needed comfort and God provided it.

God comforts.   I feel the verb form these days.  In prayer, I sense the pressure of his arms around my shoulders.  I see the compassion in His eyes when I close my eyes and picture His face.

Surprising comforters have popped up in my path.  Of course, my faithful loved ones hug me and listen, but most unexpectedly, a stranger, with no relationship ties to me, cried for me and acted on my behalf to claim some mementos from the house.   Why was she so kind and so involved in helping me?  God sent her from his storehouse to provide the comfort that He promises.

We also are members of this comfort reservoir. My friend confided to me recently that my offer of help in the midst of her distress gave her a sense of uplifting support.  The domino effect of comforting:  those who receive it become givers of it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

